Category Archives: Contemporary Fiction

Love Me Tender by Nicola May

Love me tinder new release

This book is for anyone who has immersed themselves into the crazy world of app or internet dating or in fact anyone who wants an insight into what it’s all about.

Being single’s alright isn’t it? You don’t have to answer to anyone. There is no sight or sound of snoring, farting, dirty socks, wet towels and the toilet seat is forever down.

But who am I kidding? We all want to find that special someone to love, trust and basically snuggle into when the weather gets cold or the going gets tough.

So… with this quest in mind I decided to embark on a dating mission the internet way! And, oh how I found out that this dating lark in the modern age is not for the faint-hearted.

If you thought standard internet dating sites was fast, wait until you download an app. It’s like being sucked into a whirlpool or testosterone and thrown out the other side wearing one stiletto, a ripped stocking and Mona Lisa’s smile.

I have to say that after a couple of months I became exhausted by all the technology that comes along with this new dating game. I mean what happened to good old fashioned courting? Rather than having to work out which is the best mode of communication for progressing the relationship; is he a Facebook messenger type of guy or does Whatsapp float his boat? Can I not instead just pick up the remarkable object that was designed originally for vocal, yes vocal communication and talk to him?

I feel that so much gets misconstrued through messaging and I’m the sort of person who wants to know someone’s real honest feelings from the get go. Modern dating doesn’t encourage this level of intimacy. When someone likes me, I want them to call and show me that, instead of playing the texting game, which seems to have become the norm right now.

To be honest, I don’t think the majority of people give relationships a chance anymore; a slight imperfection in character or looks and you can cruelly replace someone with the touch of a button if you so wish.

However, despite all this, I am still a strong believer in true love. Elvis can serenade me with his Love Me Tender’s any day. In fact whilst listening to him, my eureka moment hit that to write a book about the trials and tribulations of using a dating app could not only be very funny, but could highlight the real life issue of finding love in the modern age.

When I thought back to my own dating experiences, I realised that the minefield of good, bad and indifferent dates I encountered was a gift for creating interesting and amusing plot fodder, and so the idea for Love Me Tinder was born.

In brief, Love me Tinder revolves around heroine, Cali Summers who decides to hit the world of fast love after her marriage breaks down.

Using room 102 in the hotel where she works as her dating ‘lair’, she opens herself up to a world of sex, lies, deception, as well as personal discovery and passionate romance.

The reader will laugh, cry, cringe, squirm and nod along with Cali’s antics as she finds out if it is risky freedom or dull security that she really craves.

You can purchase Love Me Tinder Here

Twitter: nicolamay1

Website: www.nicolamay.com
Nicola will also be stopping off on a few blogs for her release, check the first one out below.

‘Apply Ever After’ on Laura Wilkinson’s Blog 

‘Fast Love’ on Jenny Kane’s blog. 

 

Wild Bore

Accent’s Queens of Cozy – 29 Titles in Top 100

Accent Press is proud to say that a full 29% of the Cozy Crime chart on Amazon is made up of Accent Press titles from authors Andrea Frazer, Lesley Cookman, and Jean Goodhind.

Congratulations to them – and to the whole team at Accent!

Greg

 

Love in Vogue

Love in Vogue – début novel from Eve Bourton coming soon!

Accent Press is thrilled to announce the upcoming début novel from up-and-coming contemporary women’s fiction author Eve Bourton, Love in Vogue. We’re all set for publication in mid-September, and we can’t wait to get this blockbuster out there! Fans of Louise Bagshawe and Sophie Kinsella will love this.

Love in Vogue

When her tycoon father suddenly dies, Corinne Marchand, heartbroken and also mistrustful of men after being abandoned by playboy Philippe de Rochmort three years earlier, throws herself into running his couture empire based in Paris. Busy with her new life and convinced that she is better off alone, she refuses to give merchant banker Miles Corsley the time of day, let alone a date.

Corinne’s younger sister, model Yolande Marchand, has loved Philippe’s brother Yves all her life, and they are to be married, but after meeting bad boy film star Patrick Dubuisson she breaks off her engagement and embarks on a passionate affair in Hollywood with Patrick.

When Philippe finally returns to France and shocking secrets are revealed, Corinne has to decide if she will trust Miles with more than her money as they battle to save her company from a hostile takeover while Yolande learns the hard way that Hollywood glamour doesn’t always bring happiness. Meanwhile Philippe and Yves are struggling to convince the women they love that they are the men they really want.

All anyone can ask for is a second chance …

tickled pink

Christina Jones Outselling J. K. Rowling!

Outselling JK

Accent Press’s new version of Christina Jones’ Tickled Pink is spending its 15th day in the top 100 of the Amazon.co.uk Kindle store, outselling J.K. Rowling’s Cormoran Strike crime series (written under the Robert Galbraith pen name), and is at #9 in the chart already. We at Accent are over the moon about Christina’s sales; she’s a highly talented author and a wonderful person to work with. We truly believe that Tickled Pink is the perfect summer read!

Accent Press are now releasing new versions of Christina’s back list, with the bestselling Walking on Air just out and doing well. Stay tuned for new releases of Going the Distance, Jumping to Conclusions, Running the Risk, Stealing the Show, Summer of Love, Forever Autumn, and Nothing to Lose!

9781783754830_FC

Love Castaway by Cara Cooper

Dr Nancy Taylor, is contented with her lone conservationist role on a desert island. When Gareth Marrs lands his plane she wants him out of there. She craves isolation from the real world where she made a mistake so awful she cannot bear to return.

Owner of a luxury cruise line, Gareth plans to profit from her precious hideaway. He is less than honest with Nancy about his reasons for being there. When the island is attacked by Somalian pirates, Gareth not only protects Nancy but begins to understand why she has shut herself away. He is deeply attracted to the beautiful enigmatic scientist, so different from the shallow conquests in his city home. When he awakens the emotions she has hidden for so long, Gareth offers a chance of happiness. But Nancy discovers his real reason for invading her hidden paradise, incensed, she orders him out of her life forever. Gareth isn’t a man so easily brushed off. Besides he knows the only future he can contemplate lies with her if only he can get her to face up to her demons.



 

Public Battles Public Wars

Public Battles, Private Wars by Laura Wilkinson

‘Vivid and engaging. A touching, well-written novel’ Welsh Books Council Reader Report What lines would you cross for the ones you love? Yorkshire 1983. Miner’s wife Mandy is stuck in a rut. At twenty-three, and trapped by domesticity, her future looks set and she wants more from life. Husband Rob is a good-looking drinker, content to spend his days in the small town where they’ve always lived – where Mandy can’t do anything other than bake cakes and raise her children. When Mandy’s childhood friend – beautiful, clever Ruth – and Ruth’s Falklands war hero husband, Dan, return to town, their homecoming is shrouded in mystery. Like in their schooldays, Mandy looks to Ruth for inspiration – but Ruth isn’t all she appears. As conflict with the Coal Board turns into war, the men come out on strike. The community and its whole way of life is threatened. Mandy abandons her dreams of liberation from the kitchen sink and joins a support group. As the strike rumbles on, relationships are pushed to the brink, and Mandy finds out just who she is – and who her true friends are.